Recipients of the 2019 Jean Boileau Award

News releases | August 15, 2019

In 1991, then-amateur photographer Jean-Pierre Lalonde joined the Gatineau Hot Air Balloon family of volunteers as a member of a chase crew. “Talk about a terrific opportunity to get some exclusive shots!” It turned out to be everything he had hoped for, so much so that the following year, along with his wife, Marie Dompierre, he joined the kitchen crew, which was in charge of feeding the small army of volunteers. These two generous Gatineau residents were far from imagining that this was to be the start of a long-term relationship with the region’s biggest event!

Their contribution to and involvement in the organization as volunteers has kept growing over the years, to the point where, today, Marie and Jean-Pierre are counted among the pillars of the organization. They are the bone and sinew of the Festival, and the purpose that lies at its very soul, which is to bring our community together around a moment of shared joy and pride. “What keeps us with the FMG is the sense of family, of being part of a tightly knit gang, not only amongst the volunteers, but with the entire permanent team,” indicated Jean-Pierre. “At the FMG, volunteers are not only the foot soldiers, they are at the heart of the action. The team treats the volunteers with a great deal of respect. We not only get tasks assigned to us, but also responsibilities. And that is not something you find everywhere, it truly is unique to the FMG,” added Marie, who now serves on the Board of Directors, in addition to being responsible for the volunteers.

“Because of their passion and volunteer work, Marie and Jean-Pierre have for 30 consecutive years supported, fed, organized and cared for the 1,500 volunteers in the organization to ensure that festival-goers get the most out of this big celebration,” explained Jean Boileau, the founder of the Festival and head of communications for Gatineau. “This is an invaluable and unique commitment on the part of a couple whom the FMG has tattooed onto its heart, and that must be underlined!”​​​​​​​

The Jean Boileau Award highlights the involvement of the people who make the event. Marie Dompierre and Jean-Pierre Lalonde will receive their award on the Casino Lac-Leamy Stage on Saturday, August 31. Congratulations!

Jean Boileau Award Winners

2018 – Gaston Lepage                             2011 – Walter Grishkot                              

2017 – Thérèse Cyr                                    2010 – Lyne Leduc

2016 – Diane Latreille                               2009 – Jean-Claude Barbe

2015 – Berthe Miron                                  2008 – Carolyn Mitrow 

2014 – Hugo Girard

2013 – Roland (Rolly) Hammond

2012 – Claire Vaive


Michelle O’Neil, director of partnerships
Email :                                                                               Phone : 819-743-7200​​​​​​​